Wheel direct drive

Hi, I am new to this. Are there any disadvantages from driving the wheels directly from the motor/planetary gearbox - not through a spocket and chain.

thanks

Just t start, there are always advantages and disadvantages to every approach, in everything.

Anyway, just a few thoughts about direct drive:

1. Less control over the drive ratio, so you might not get the speed or power you want/need.

2. You have to locate the transmission and motor in a place that may not be convenient.

3. You do end up with less weight, which is a good thing, because you don’t have sprockets and chain.

Don

I’ll echo Don’s comments about ratios; one of the reasons we’re using chain in our setup is so that we have a fallback in case we completely misread the way the game would be played. Since we’re Week 3 this year, we have a clue as to which way the game will be played. If we need to adjust our drive system, we just need to order some new sprockets, switch them out on Thursday at Chesapeake, and we’re golden.

The other advantage to chain is that chain is an easy-to-fix place to have a drivetrain fail. Ideally you would have zero failures, but I’d much rather throw a chain than bend a shaft or otherwise bust a part.

On the other hand, a good direct drive shaft should be less likely to fail than a chain and sprocket setup.

Just one thing. Direct drive is a lot like driving your car around in only first gear. once you hit that point, it just will not go any faster. if you drive hard, it will reduce your motor and battery life as well. It works, but you have to do it right.

I have to agree with everyone. The only advantage i can think of is it’s lighter. But you lose top end speed, and bat. life

I’m confused.

I assume you’re talking about direct driving a motor which is never a good idea.

Plenty of teams successfully direct drive their wheels, from a transmission.