Wheels/Belts for Roller Claw

My team is designing a roller claw as an off-season project. I’m new to FRC, and I was wondering what designs y’all have come up with. At this point, I’m most interested in the pros and cons behind different wheels and belts/chains used in the designs. Thanks!

Edit: People asked what game prices were using, and we’re using milk crates for it.

Most often, people use compliant wheels for their intakes. Back when the dinosaurs ruled the earth (ca. 2017), compliant wheels were much harder to find and people used rubber-coated Banebot wheels.

I wouldn’t recommend chains for directly interacting with game pieces, as they’ll scuff them up and some referees and robot inspectors won’t like that. They’re perfectly fine as power transmission, but most people use belts for intake power transmission since the loads are low and belts weigh less.

When using belts for material handling, normal HTD 5mm belts are workable, but a lot of people also use polycord or urethane flat belts.

1 Like

What “game piece” are you looking to manipulate with the claw?

With wheel selection, you’ll want to consider where your compliance is coming from. You’ll want some squish somewhere in the system (that’s how the manipulator holds onto the piece), but that squish can come from either the piece or the wheel. The 2020 game piece has a lot of squish to it, so people were intaking with harder durometer wheels (or sometimes quite rigid tubing). Contrast that to the 2018 game piece that is quite stiff. For that one, teams used softer, spongier wheels.