When does the wait list stop pulling teams

I’m just curious when do you guys think we should give up waiting for the wait list for Detroit. We are considering unbaging the robot for demonstrations and I don’t want the students to be disappointed if we get picked tomorrow after we disqualify ourselves.

You should still have an allowed unbagging for presentation purposes according to game manual, you just need to report it, log the hours, and show proof I believe. (I’ve never done it so I have no experience in that regard.) However, I don’t believe it automatically disqualifies you. Look through the game manual, because I’ve seen the demonstration rule in there, and ask a FRC representative for more info if you still have questions.

2 Likes

There’s no official cutoff, and I know in the past at least one team went with less than 24 hours notice

Don’t quote me on this, but I believe there’s a 6hr unbag rule for demonstration purposes only. If you document it like @Ares said I don’t see the problem.

To be clear, none of what I am saying is certain! Please check the rules and if necessary contact FIRST in order to make sure.

2 Likes

The rule basically says dont keep it out for 4+ hours and dont do practice with it

Houston teams were still clearing this week. So definitely no earlier than sometime next week.

Hey Scott!
Albeit some interesting circumstances, 1625 was offered a chance to backfill at champs with about 24 hour notice in 2016.

You do have the ability to bag/unbag for demos. If you do that and stay diligent with your lockup form you shouldn’t have a problem. Most officials (LRI, head ref, etc.) are pretty understanding of different circumstances.

Good luck to you and your new team!

Please everyone, read the rules and reference them as needed. You’ll want to look at R20. The blue box underneath it defines a “brief display period”: