when is over, over.

Posted by nick237 at 1/16/2001 11:47 PM EST

Engineer on team #237, sie h2o bots, from Watertown high school ct and sieman co.

I had a thought as to what is considered the end of the game. The doubler points are scored when the buzzer sounds at the end of the game and the ramp is in balance with nothing touching the ramp.
What happens if the ramp tilts and falls just as the refs are counting the points? Does any one think that the score should be counted as in balance with the doublers or not.
Teams will also have to be very careful when removing their bots from a ramp after the end of a game as there is a chance of damage to bots as the ramp moves up and down and team members being hurt by falling goals or crushed toes. Should team members wear helmets and safety shoes for safety sake?
I know I know its late and these are the things I think of when the brain cells start to die.
But its an interesting thought though.
nick237

Posted by Matt Leese at 1/17/2001 12:04 AM EST

Other on team #73, Tigerbolt, from Edison Technical HS and Alstom & Rochester Institute of Technology.

In Reply to: when is over, over.
Posted by nick237 on 1/16/2001 11:47 PM EST:

Well, if the ramp unbalances (or anti-balances as I know some people prefer :wink: in under 10 seconds or so, then it shouldn’t count. If it happens later, then by all means it should count although the exact time period is up to the referees. I doubt that if one of the refs bumped the ramp and unbalanced it that they wouldn’t give the doubler score. As far as safety goes: be careful. I’m assuming that there’s a greater chance of getting hurt in the pit with all those power tools going then there is from the ramp, but then again I doubt I’ll be out on the field. :wink:

Matt

Posted by colleen – T190 at 1/17/2001 12:35 AM EST

Engineer on team #190, Gompei, from Massachusetts Academy of Math and Science and WPI.

In Reply to: when is over, over.
Posted by nick237 on 1/16/2001 11:47 PM EST:

yeah-- I think the same rules as the past apply… time’s over… about 10secs to “settle” and then the points are counted… it’s plausible from referee movement or accidental hitting that something could unbalance in which cause I believe it would be counted…

Exception to note: in Team Update 4… it says that if a ball is under the ramp, if it is clearly deforming ball (ball is keeping balance), it will not count… if the ball is clearly not touching… then it will count… BUT, if the referees aren’t sure, they will remove the ball and see…

They say it’s common sense… but sometimes common sense and reflexes don’t work one in the same for someone down on the field reaching in for the ball… i don’t know what they would do if they hit it then…

So many what ifs… so little time :slight_smile: