Will climber backdrive, that occurs after the match is over, but before the 5 second cutoff, and causes us to extend past 16 inches beyond the frame, result in any kind of penalty

So our climber may backdrive once power is cut off from the robot after the match is over. If that causes the robot to extend past 16 inches beyond the frame perimeter, will that result in any penalty?

A question for Q & A. Our opinions are completely worthless at competition.

That being clarified:
Once the match is over, I know of no rule preventing your robot from extending more than 16" from its frame perimeter.

Ok. Thank you for the reply. This is my first time actually posting something on Chief Delphi.

While you should ask the FIRST FRC Q&A System, I expect that this will result in penalties. G107 simply says that extending past 16 inches will result in the robot being ineligible for hangar points if this extension scores hangar points. Hangar points are scored 5 seconds after the match ends. So the extension would be scoring points. If you are outside the perimeter after the 5 seconds, this is most likely acceptable.
Also note that G107 is repeated in R105, and either rule could give you problems. Consider using a toggleable brake like Friction Brake & Ratchet – WestCoast Products or make your own.
It is quite possible this will be okay. Please ask the Q&A, and try to avoid doing sketchy stuff that isn’t GP.

Is there a section simply for Q&A on here?

Oh nevermind I found what you were talking about.

1 Like

So I looked on the Q&A site for FRC and I found that apparently a robot will not be penalized

Original question-if the robot extends past the height limit after the match ends will it be penalized for exceeding the height limit or is it only during the match that it can be penalized?

Original Answer-Penalties are not assigned for ROBOT actions outside a MATCH.

1 Like

This is a robot rule, and checked during inspection whether your robot can physically go beyond the frame perimeter, so that’s something to keep in mind. The height extension rules are not checked in inspections. That’s a gameplay rule.

1 Like

I looked on the Q&A site for FRC and I found that apparently a robot will not be penalized

Original question-if the robot extends past the height limit after the match ends will it be penalized for exceeding the height limit or is it only during the match that it can be penalized?

Original Answer-Penalties are not assigned for ROBOT actions outside a MATCH.

1 Like

So there’s two rules involved here. There’s the height limit in the hangar zone, and the frame perimeter extension rule. One, the height limit, is a gameplay rule and checked by referees during a match. The other, the 16 inch extension rule, is a robot rule and checked by inspectors. The refs do not decide whether your robot did or didn’t break the 16 inch rule (though they may bring it up with an inspector if they’re worried its being broken). You need to prove to inspectors that you don’t break that rule during inspection.

Confusion for myself which I thought I understood. Are you saying that if you are completely on the traverse bar and the buzzer goes off, your climber starts to creep down past 66", since the match is over you don’t get a penalty and the climb still counts?

The OP was asking about the 16 inch extension. I don’t know about the height extension. That would have to go for the Q&A

If Q&A is being consistent, they will probably make the same ruling for the 16" as they do for the 66". However, they ARE two separate rules, so a well-placed Q&A asking if Q134 also applies to the Game and Robot rules for perimeter extension would be appropriate.

1 Like

This topic was automatically closed 365 days after the last reply. New replies are no longer allowed.