Writing code for a color sensor

Hi everyone! I’m the head programmer for team 7034. For BunnyBots this year, our robot needs a color sensor. However, there isn’t a class for one in the FRC library, and I have no experience of writing code like this before. We’re working with the Vex Color Sensor V2. I found the data sheet here and also the sensor’s datasheet here. We have the sensor wired up to the RoboRio, but whenever we try to read an RGB value, it simply returns the address we’re trying to read the value from.

public class ColorSensor{
    ByteBuffer buffer = ByteBuffer.allocate(1);
    I2C sensor;
    public ColorSensor(){
        sensor = new I2C(I2C.Port.kOnboard, 0x39); //0x39 is the sensor's i2c address
        sensor.write(0x00, 192); //0b11000000 ... Power on, color sensor on. (page 20 of sensor datasheet)
    }
    public int red(){
        sensor.read(0x16, 1, buffer);
        return buffer.get(0);
    }
    public int green(){
        sensor.read(0x18, 1, buffer);
        return buffer.get(0);
    }
    public int blue(){
        sensor.read(0x1A, 1, buffer);
        return buffer.get(0);
    }
}

I don’t have access to the code right now so there might be minor syntax errors but for the most part it should be correct. We write 192 to the 0x00 register in order to turn the sensor on and to enable the RGB functions (page 20 in the sensor’s datasheet). We weren’t sure if we were supposed to read the binary left to right, or from 0-7, so we also tried writing 3 to the register (0b00000011), but it also did not change the result. When we read from any address, it simply returns the address. So if we are trying to read the blue value from 0x1A, it returns 26, the address in decimal. We simply cannot decipher the datasheet and, with no experience and no software mentors, are at wit’s end. If anyone has experience writing code for sensors or reading datasheets, your help would be greatly appreciated!

REV Color Sensor V2 and RoboRIO Communication