XBox controller

Hello!
First of all, let it be said that I am new to robot programming. What I have been trying to do is modify the code below to utilize an xBox 360 controller. I have literally gone through every forum entry with the keyword “xBox” which resulted in nothing more than being lead to other entries and dead links to websites. I have already installed the drivers and tried treating the controller as a typical joystick. If anyone could Help, I would greatly appreciate it! Thanks!

#include <WPILib.h>

class DefaultRobot : public SimpleRobot
{	
	Joystick *leftStick;			
	Joystick *rightStick;	

RobotDrive *myRobot;	

public:

DefaultRobot(void)
	{	
		leftStick = new Joystick(1);			
		rightStick = new Joystick(2);

myRobot = new RobotDrive(1, 3, 2, 4);

myRobot->SetExpiration(0.005);
	}

void Autonomous(void)
	{
		myRobot->SetSafetyEnabled(true);

while(IsAutonomous())
			{

}

}

void OperatorControl(void)
	{

while (IsOperatorControl())
		{	
			myRobot->ArcadeDrive(leftStick);
			Wait(0.001);
		}
	}
};

START_ROBOT_CLASS(DefaultRobot);

I haven’t used an Xbox controller, nor do I use C++, but here’s how I would attack the problem of getting any joystick or controller to work.

First I would make sure the controller is being recognized by the driver station software. It should show up on the setup tab as a joystick. When you press a button on the controller, the controller should change color in the joystick list. If it isn’t detected or doesn’t detect button presses, the problem is likely with your driver.