Your Team Sucks At Programming: Here's Why

Hi my name is Kim and I’ve been addicted to FRC for four years. Ultimately though, I’m a programmer (not a good one mind you), but I have some decent hot takes on why most teams are bad at programming.

(This post is in the style of @Katie_UPS’ post on scouting. Thanks Katie for the inspiration, and y’all should give it a read if you haven’t yet.)

• You didn’t choose the right language.
    • C++ isn’t faster if you use it wrong.
    • LabVIEW isn’t automatically easier than the other two main languages because it’s graphical.
    • Your school probably has CompSci courses, try and use what they’re teaching to cut down on the amount of teaching students have to do. (Hint: it’s probably Java.)
    • Your team might have mentors who know a given language. That’s fine and dandy but that doesn’t mean they have time or the ecosystem knowledge to execute as well as students.
    • Python / Kotlin / C# / Ruby / etc. is a lovely language but that doesn’t mean going with an unsupported one is the right choice for your team. You should weigh the benefits and drawbacks very carefully.
  • You don’t know what you need.
    • Didn’t install the right vendor libraries to take advantage of motor controllers. (Don’t just drive Talon SRXes and Spark Maxes over PWM please…)
    • Didn’t use your sensors to the fullest of their potential. Learn about PIDF and control theory.
    • You shouldn’t be downloading The FRC Update Suite week 4. You should install it ASAP and keep it updated.
    • Keep your libraries and device firmware updated and check for updates! The FRC Update Suite upgrade was mandatory in 2019 after-bag but there will frequently be updates that make you do better (seen a lot with the NEOs this year.)
  • You tried to reinvent the wheel.
    • Shuffleboard and other dashboards are available, use them. Very few teams have a real need to write their own from the ground up.